Accommodation Achiever Awards recognise industry talent

28 November, 2013

Top achievers from across the accommodation industry were recognised in Sydney Wednesday night (November 27) at the 2013 Accommodation Achiever Awards.

Over 40 finalists from across the country were competing to win nine prestigious titles ranging from 'Employee of the Year' to 'Multi-Property Manager of the Year'.
TV and radio sports presenter, Tony Squires, hosted the event and attendees were treated to an impromptu dance lesson from Australia's Got Talent finalist, Tommy Franklin A.K.A Salty Rain, in one of his first corporate appearances.
A revitalised awards format called for entrants to submit a three minute video of themselves outlining the favourite part of their role, the skills they've acquired and their passion for the hospitality industry. Winners' videos were screened at last night's event.
"The Association congratulates all of the winners for their achievements. People awards provide an excellent opportunity to motivate and inspire your team, in addition to recognising and rewarding the professionalism of individuals who embody the hospitable values at the core of the accommodation industry," commented CEO, Richard Munro.
"Video submissions provide a personalised view of the nominees in their actual work environment and do a fine job of translating the merit of each of them, as well as showing how meaningful careers can be forged in our industry."
"The Accommodation Achiever Awards aims to uncover new industry talent and give the hardworking people of Australia's accommodation industry an opportunity to shine."
A number of accommodation industry luminaries were also honoured with HOSTPLUS ACES Awards for outstanding contributions and leadership (ACES stands for attitude, commitment, enthusiasm and service). Recipients of these awards were: Lyndel Gray, CEO, Caravan & Camping Industry Association NSW; Martin Ferguson AM, Federal Minister for Tourism and Minister for Resources and Energy (2007-2013); and David Baffsky, Hon Chairman at Accor Asia Pacific.
2013 Accommodation Association Achiever Awards - Winners
Department Manager Of The Year 2013 - Sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Paul Losurdo - Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, NSW
Employee Of The Year 2013 - Sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Kellie Hughes - Novotel Forest Resort, VIC
Multi Property Manager Of The Year 2013 - Sponsored by John Beazley & Co
 Steven Gargano - Cambridge, Abey an ADGE Hotels, NSW
Property Manager Of The Year (50 rooms or less) 2013 - Sponsored by American Express
Nola Daniel - WorldMark Resort Ballarat, VIC
Property Manager Of The Year (50 rooms or more) 2013 - Sponsored by American Express
Nathan Hunt - Ramada Resort Port Douglas, QLD
Property Owner Of The Year 2013 - Sponsored by TTF
Trevor & Joanne Kratzmann - Scone Motor Inn, NSW
Supervisor Of The Year 2013 - Sponsored by Weatherdon
Patricia Sutherland - The Sebel Residence Chatswood, NSW
Apprentice / Trainee of the Year 2013 - Sponsored by HTN
Casey Parsons - Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa, NSW
People's Choice Award 2013
Luiz Prebianca - Riverside Hotel Southbank, QLD